Here is me…

This self-portrait is my first photo for the Dogwood Photography 52 Week Challenge (Dogwood 52) and was inspired by a quote I read from Annie Leibovitz:

“When I say I want to photograph someone, what it really means is that I’d like to know them.”

When I came across the quote, I was busy reading the portrait section in my instructional photography book, and I had to laugh at myself. I had big plans for this challenge, but in the end I decided they were foolish plans.  Those plans were mainly based on vanity. Something I suffer from quite regularly. I’d washed my hair, thought about make-up, the setting and the lighting. All with a view to making myself look more presentable to the world.  But that wouldn’t really be me.  Here is me:

Self-portrait for Dogwood52, Dogwoodweek1
Shot on Fuji X-E2 mounted on a tripod using the Fujifilm Camera Remote App for iPhone, set to 1/4000 2.0 3200 on a 2 second timer. Processing done in iPhoto (all I did was some cropping).

After reading the Leibovitz quote, I wanted to focus on storytelling and honesty with this photo, and I am happy with those aspects. There are problems with the shot, my amateur status is clear to see, but I won’t go further into my analysis, because that could get quite tedious.  I’m more interested in hearing other people’s analysis, so feel free to let me know what you think the problems are, because I surely didn’t spot them all!  I feel like I am really starting at the beginning again with my photography, so even basic suggestions are welcomed.

Please also ask any questions you have about the photo, how I took it or what I was trying to achieve.

My theme for 2016 is hopefully going to be commitment and I really need to get out of my rut, so thanks for dropping by and helping me out. I feel like through this exercise I got to know myself better and hopefully so did you.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. freebutfun says:

    My initial thoughts on the photo were “honest and approachable”. Something you wanted to share or just my sentiments? 🙂

    1. mumsumsum says:

      I appreciate you taking the time to comment. Those are definitely sentiments I wanted to portray. Thanks! (:

  2. I think it’s a great portrait, honest, humble and well composed. Only feedback would be why such a high ISO with such a fast shutter speed ?
    At 3200 1/4000 you could have easily taken 3-4 stops from the shutter and ISO for similar results but of a higher print quality.
    Not taking from a great shot just giving my feedback. I really like the shot and look forward to seeing what you have in store for us over the next 12 months

    1. mumsumsum says:

      I also thought that, but only after the fact when I saw the graininess in the background. Embarrassingly, I still have my camera set to auto ISO because I haven’t really got my head around it yet. It’s great getting specific feedback like this. I really appreciate it. Don’t worry about being too harsh either. I have thick skin. (:

Leave a Reply

