Review: Kikki-K Goals Workshop

Last year I attended a Goals Workshop held in a Kikki-K store.  Kikki-K is, according to their website, a ‘retailer offering stylish gifts, stationery and functional organising tools in Scandinavian designs.’  The workshop was exactly what I should have expected with the welcome addition of bubbly and chocolates.  I thought since several months have passed, it’s probably a good time to assess how effective it was for me.

The Kikki-K Goals Journal with Scandi-style sheep skin. And who doesn’t love a notebook elastic to match their fancy journal? (;

There are some lovely people working at my local Kikki-K store that know me by name. That’s how often I visit the place.  Admittedly upon realising that I decided to tone down my enthusiasm, well, the outward expression of such. Truth be told I absolutely love stationery and that love has not waned, but my spending on it thankfully has.

One fateful day I was browsing the store, as I was seemingly prone to do, with a gift voucher and a friendly shop assistant informed me about goals workshops that are run in their stores and how that was a cost effective way to spend my voucher.  At the time, I thought she was crazy. I thought, ‘I don’t have goals, I just go with the flow.’

Hilarious. I don’t think that’s how people would describe me at all. I always want to do stuff. Those would be goals, dear lady.  So I roped in my Awesome Friend and we booked ourselves in.  Nothing like a night of introspection with strangers for a fun time.

As I walked into the store I felt a pinch in my stomach. It dawned on me exactly what was going to happen: S.M.A.R.T. goals, core values, my dream life, accountability and my worst nightmare: making a commitment. And I was inflicting this on my Awesome Friend!  I sat there very uncomfortable and apologetic as the friendly presenter spoke. People told me about their very impressive goals and I was impressed.  I diligently filled out my Goals Journal as instructed and quivered in my boots.

Several months on and I have filled out my Goals Journal some more.  I didn’t really learn much new information at the workshop, but it did do the very important job of getting the ball rolling.  This wouldn’t have happened if I had just bought the journal. Even with all the journal’s prompts and guidance. The journal is divided into calendar months and each month my Awesome Friend talks to me about using the Goals Journal and most months I have filled it in.  The structure that has given me has been very useful. See, my Awesome Friend is awesome.

Most of the time I have been overly ambitious, but the monthly reflection prompted by the journal and my Awesome Friend has helped me hone the way define my goals and consider what is really holding me back. It has helped me face what is realistically achievable and it’s helped me be honest and open about my dreams.  It has helped me come up with Commitment Realm 1.5.  I guess you could say I learnt by doing.

Have I actually managed to achieve any of my goals? Well yes, I have. Not all of them. Not even most of them. But more than I may have otherwise. And that’s a win in my books. So thanks Kikki-K and big thanks to my Awesome Friend.

As seems to be the fashion, I feel I should point out that I paid to do the workshop, although the voucher I received was from Kikki-K through their membership programme. They did not ask me to write this review, let alone pay me for it. 

The workshop cost $40 and the price included the journal (RRP $39.95). For more information click here.
This post was written in response to the daily prompt Learning Style at The Daily Post.

Leave a Reply

