Work it baby!

It was pretty exciting that my husband agreed to be my subject this week.  He doesn’t usually enjoy having his photo taken and, as I mentioned before, I thought finding portrait subjects was going to be a big challenge for the Dogwood 52.

I did some internet research about what makes a good headshot and got a little bit suckered into YouTube videos featuring photographer Peter Hurley.  He is a successful headshot photographer in the US with a very big personality.  I did use his guidance about posing subjects, because my plan was to attempt to produce a commercial style of headshot.

Here’s the result:

 

dogwoodweek4_ - 1 (1)
Work it baby! Captured on a handheld Fujifilm X-E2 set to 1/30 f/4 ISO 800.

The shot was taken indoors with the subject facing a window.  The afternoon light was diffused with a sheer curtain and the subject was about three metres away from the window. I tried using my tripod, because the shutter speed was quite slow, but there wasn’t much room to manoeuvre in the space and I found it difficult get the frame right.

I did a tiny bit of post-processing, adjusting the contrast and exposure and cropping to a square.

Overall I am very pleased with result.  My model was very co-operative and I think the photo is flattering.  The shoot didn’t take as long as I thought it might.

The main learning I took away from this week were the tips from Peter Hurley about posing the subject and how important it is to control the light hitting the face.  Controlling the light when you are an amateur with no light set-up, crazy weather and limited time is a big challenge.  I put a lot of thought into where and when I could shoot and I think that planning paid off.

A big thanks goes out to my husband for putting up with my bossing around and treating his body like he was made of plasticine.

Please let me know what you think of the headshot. I’ve never really attempted this type of photography before, but I really enjoyed it, so I’d love to get better at it.

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. freebutfun says:

    See that’s a good husband: making his wife happy. I believe he might be happy he obliged when seeing the result!

    1. mumsumsum says:

      Happy wife, happy life. (;

Leave a Reply

